Southside Baptist Church's History
 

Our Church has a rich heritage from which to build on. In 1948, with direction from God, William Beall and his wife Nannie left Fort Worth, Texas and came to Denison, and established Southside Baptist Church. The church grew very quickly and occupied four different buildings at the corner of Mirick and Owing Street. Rev. Beall left Denison in 1953 to Pastor in Sulphur Springs, Texas at the Central Baptist Church.

    Rev. Wayne Imboden came as Pastor in July of 1953. The Church moved to its present location 1131 South Scullin on July 29th, 1962.

     Rev. Imboden, and his wife Lillie Mae, served the Lord faithfully until Bro. Imboden's death December 31, 1985; thus fulfilling 32 years  of ministry at Southside Baptist Church.

      Rev. Keith Taylor came as Pastor on March 17, 1986. He and Kathy have been at Southside over 29 years. Under his ministry the Church has totally remodeled and added on to its present facility, and built a gym/fellowship hall. It has also expanded its property to owning the whole block. Southside Baptist Church is now in the process of relocation, to a new building & facilities, after being at its present address, 1131 S. Scullin Ave. since 1962. 

       Southside Baptist Church is a church with a vision. A vision for reaching this city, and world for Christ. The Church supports over 100 missionary families, 2 Bible Colleges, Texoma Baptist Youth Camp, and many Home Mission Projects.

As we have moved into our new worship facility at 3500 South Park Avenue on April 3rd, 2011, we look forward to serving our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, until He comes again for us. Our desire is to see more lost people come to know Jesus as their personal Savior and serve Him faithfully, telling the world that there is hope and peace in knowing Jesus!!

 
www.gospelgifs.com  

 

  Copyrightę2012